The management company and I had been communicating for a couple days prior to our visit. I told them we were coming for my sons birthday and would be having a pool party. Well when sent the email with the location of the home, they sent us to another house that was not the house that is listed, and then after a call to them, which they answered fairly quick, they sent us the right info. But we had access to a place that wasn't the place we had originally booked. Then when we got to the house, it was pretty and very clean, but the pool was terrible. Had a little pad where there was only a foot of water with these little pipes sticking up, the pool was freezing, and the hot tub wasn't filled but half way and was freezing as well. Then when I called management about it he said it wasn't working and the pool isn't heated. Then said we could get a full refund if we decided to stay elsewhere. So I called homeaway and told them the situation and that we needed to find another place. We left 20 degree Utah weather to come have a pool party. Not an ice cold pool party. Homeaway said they could only issue a refund with the managements approval. Well they put me on hold and came back and said we wouldn't be getting a refund. I started crying, after spending $1,200 for 3 nights, I felt violated. We were gonna have to find somewhere to take the kids swimming that was actually swimmable. Well I called management and told them how upset I was when I got off the phone with homeaway and they said "no where on our profile does it say the pool is heated or that the hot tub works." I was ticked. After some calls to the actual home owners, we got a full refund, thank goodness. But I will not stay with Homeaway ever again. We will stick to Airbnb and hotels.
Review by Quatre3 weeks ago
In my Opinion Place was not clean for checking , AC control in cage and turn off at night, use surveillance to discriminate on guest and fabricate excuses to not return deposit. Home away don't help .
Booking with confidence isn't true.They are also VRBO
Review by Dommie3 weeks ago
I've listed my vacation rental on VRBO/Homeaway for the previous 12 years without any problems. Recently they've gone to only taking payments from renters thru a foreign banking service. I was concerned giving a foreign bank personal information needed and what they might possibly do with my personal information. I've currently been waiting over 4 months for payment that they've received from guest in July. Multiple calls to homeaway trying to get payment. Beware
Review by Sharn Basel1 month ago
HomeAway collected double playment due to an ' error ' on their website. After more than one month and many phonecalls and emails we still have not received our money back. HomeAway does not respond to our emails and reminders and when we finally get somebody on the phone the person always claims 'it is under investigation by the technical team' and they cannot do anything more for you but asking for an update (which you subsequently do not receive). It looks like a big fraud to me. I will never use HomeAway ever again and strongly recommend you to stay away from them.
Review by Podtom Spikmans1 month ago
I am an vacation property owner who started out listing with the original wonderful company started in Vermont in 1996. Over the years it has been bought and sold, and It is now owned by Expedia, the greediest, most voracious on-line booking company in the business. And if we don't like their fee schedule - TOUGH - nothing we can do about it except pull our listing.
Today, they changed their policy for advanced deposit payments. NOW if we want to get OUR deposit money when OUR guest books, we can -- for another 3% ( for a total of 6%! ) JUST FOR CREDIT CARD PROCESSING FEES. Otherwise, for merely 3%, they collect MY deposit money immediately on booking from MY renters and keep it (sometimes for months, sometimes for a year), hold it until 7 days AFTER the guest checks in.
To add insult to injury, at the time of the booking they collect all the OTHER FEES we owe them UP FRONT from the deposit! They charge my guest 9-12% and they charge me 7% of my 'profit'.
So - for 25% they DO NOTHING except provide a platform to book and collect money. They do not clean, or pay property taxes and insurance, or do maintenance or deal with issues that arise, or plow roads or buy boats or repair docks or buy new linens or greet people and make sure they have the time of their lives.
They pass off Yapstone - their credit card processor - as a separate company they have no control over. They don't say things like we realize this is silly and we are looking to replace this company with another one with more competitive rates. Nope. It's just - here it is - take it or "Opt Out". I will be removing my listing from this HORRIBLE, MONEY GRUBBING company once the season is over and I have all the money they owe me. Check out what other companies this company owns: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Expedia_Group
One last super irony: In March 2017, Chelsea Clinton was named to the board of Expedia. In her newly named position, Ms. Clinton will get $45,000 a year in cash, plus $250,000 a year in stock vesting over three years.
Review by Thannida1 month ago
We advertise our accommodation through homeaway, complete waste of time, we have great reviews on other sites, and always busy, had no bookings through them, we don't even exist, they stole our hard earned money, and then don't answer the phone unless you are a new customer
Review by PCantu1 month ago
I started managing vacation rental properties many years ago on VRBO. At that time they were a privately-held company, and they were great to work with! I think I paid $300 a year for the listing, and that was it. I could manage my own payments then, too. Then Homeaway bought it, and now it's owned by Expedia, and they are AWFUL. First, the renters need to pay way more than they used to as they charge me almost $500 a year plus a "service fee" of $100-200+ to the renter on each booking. Secondly, I am not allowed to know anything about the renter before they have booked. I used to enjoy talking with renters up front and addressing any questions they had. Also, many of these properties are small, privately owned places, and I am no longer really able to vet the prospective tenant. The final blow came this week when they decided - with no notice whatsoever - that they would keep payments from my renters until after they checked in. I used to be paid when the client paid. Many of my bookings are for a year in advance, so, I either have to wait a year to be paid, or I have to pay them 6%. What a bunch of crooks. I am taking my listings down. There are other options out there.
Review by Shavarna1 month ago
Do NOT RENT 18 Rue de Bateau Antibes France!
Go ahead and hide behind bogus rules and guidelines Celia and Homeaway...
I've been dealing with Homeaway and this owner in France for the past 2 months trying to get a refund I was promised and they never followed through.
Originally I ticked the box for aircon on my search and this place came up .. not realizing it did not actually have air con it was too late to cancel and she said I'd be charged if I did.
I had been promised by her there would be "cool air blowing through the home being so close to the ocean or she would bring in cooler fans only if she had to".
Once I got to the home it was not what it looked like in the pictures as I'm sure the pictures where several years old. It was so hot in there it was like being in a sauna.
There was a huge crack in the floor where a cockroach crawled out of, dirty sponges and dirty kitchen utensils, bathrooms etc...
The lack of communication with the owner was frustrating, as I could not get a response from the owner regarding the place being so hot and To please bring those cooling fans she had promised.
i was developing A migraine within an hour of being there due to the extreme heat.
... hence no answer from owner the entire 14 hours I was there
I arrived 230pm
Emailed at 3or 4pm
- no response
Emailed / text at 7
- no response
Emailed /text at 11pm
- no response
Emailed /text 8am
I said had to leave home, too hot to stay and I was there for work and I had no communication from her
I was only in the home 14 hours out of 7 days because it was such a joke
I had to move myself out as I was sick with this migraine due to the extreme heat while the government were warning people about staying in the cool air ...then On top of that BS i had to pay for a hotel !!
Even more unbelievable ... the response that was finally sent by the owner 2 hours after I left the home, had promised a refund under the circumstances.
.. Which I still have not received
Again 2 months later she kept saying the bank did not know how to wire the money to the US
Are you kidding me?
I not only lived in Africa and had money wired to this US bank by the African bank and even they managed to do it,
..but I had used the same UK bank Celia said she "supposedly " went to and they supposedly told her no they could not do it.
Her excuse was that because I did not have an IBAN number ... seriously !? I told her several times US does NOT use IBAN ...Europe uses an IBAN numbers
I even gave her my banks specific instructions on what to tell Barclays as well as sending her the website to assure they could follow the correct wire info and phone numbers to contact if any issues
Still all I got were excuses by owner
Don't tell me Barclays, who does millions of dollars worth of business with the US could not do a wire transfer?
"Homeaway guarantee" protects no one but
Homeaway and always the same answers from them and nothing resolved
I've spoken to 7 reps in the past 2.5 months
All these emails and pictures were shared with or documented on Homeaway - it still did not matter they would still hide behind their bogus BS rules .
Work with the owner ? Seriously ? Homeaway is just a company that encourages people like Celia to steal other peoples money legally.
I had used Homeaway for several years for work and never had this experience with a homeowner.
...however this last experience has left me with a clear choice
I WILL NEVER USE THIS COMPANY AGAIN
Im sure management instructs these "lemmons" type employees" to keep the renter spinning in circles until they give up .
Do not use Homeaway or rent from
18 Rue de Bateau In Antibes France
use a competitor ...
One that will REALLY stand behind the renter
Review by Elnara Johna1 month ago
We rented an apartment in London in June for nine days. It had glowing reviews and the owner is a professional photographer! Pictures do lie, photographers lie too. Also HomeAway definitely does not assist renters. The apartment we rented had many problems. The owner lived in France and no one available to help renter. We checked out a day early as it was too difficult to leave from Victoria to Heathrow. Because we checked out early we were not allowed to review the property and we didn't get our one night deposit back either. HomeAway has a warranty but they don't tell you about that. You need to read very fine print The apartment had no hot water in the kitchen, nothing to hold on to when getting into two level 3/4 "bath", a 12" step up going into bathroom, dishwasher that did not work. We had to boil water in kitchen kettle to wash dishes, wall bed with metal frame ( which cut my leg) and was difficult to close so left it down. bathroom sink I was told if I put the plug in it would not come out! Many difficult steps which were pretty hazardous and dark to get to apartment. Listing underestimated distance from Victoria and supermarket. Never again.
Review by Prasurjya1 month ago
It is rather simple Homeaway represents the owners and protects them from their clients (you). They will do little if anything to settle a dispute, they have no policies that protect the users (you) from whatever happens. Their answer is you made an agreement with the owner not them, they wash their hands totally.
HomeAway does not publish any reviews that are deemed negative, only positive reviews are posted.
VRBO is the same company with the same issues, my experiences with Airbnb is about the same, I have decided to go back to hotels where I have the say!
Review by AnneBerit Masnovo1 month ago
Had to cancel reservation in November 2019 due to landfall of Tropical Storm Imelda. Resort and insurance carrier refunded full amount. Received notification from HomeAway that they would also be making full refund. 30 days later and 5 phone calls, still no refund. Customer service is ridiculous, do not use HomeAway, call the property directly.
Review by Ukand1 month ago
I was sold a property but never got to stay there. I found out 2 days before our trip that we could not have the property that we paid for two months prior. While this is not Homeaway's fault, how they handled this was awful and completely u professional. Even though on their app I had a reservation they literally said I had no reservation. This is due to the fraudulent seller who told me I HAD to pay him via PayPal. Due to this, homeaway is taking no responsibility and is still allowing the guy to rent more properties! This was a devastating event for us and I will never use Home away again. HOMEAWAY = STAYAWAY!
Review by Taronda Khongono1 month ago
I rented a home for 4 days of which my 87yr old mom an myself also a senior stayed maybe 30 minutes. The home was misreprented as the type of home and the accessibility, They also had cameras which is not allowed with Airbnb. As stated there is no way to leave an undesirable review thru the rules they allow the homeowners to have. Had a complaint about the house and also the way I was treated by the host. No empathy for the difficulty my Mom had with this house that was shown as a sandy beach area turned out to be a bed of white rocks and the stairs were much deeper with no safety rails. We went in and out once- it was all I could do to get her back down the stairs at that point I knew she could not do that for 4 days. At that point I went back in and retrieved our suitcases and went to a hotel. I did check the back to see if there maybe an easier way for her but the back was worse, old rickety metal stairs that were higher and more than the front. We then went to a Hotel. I let the Host know the issue and instead of trying to remedy the situation was very rude. Long story short I went back to take a pic of what she said was the better back stairs. Soon after I received a very nasty email telling me to stay off the property which is how I know Nitayla has cameras. She said she was reporting me to the police and would have me arrested ! Sure that was a big priority for the police 2 arrest 2 senior old ladies. Home Away defended the Host during the whole conversation even tho they have access to all the correspondence. I was also charged the full $150.00 for the cleaning deposit said I would of been fine to just get that back that was also denied becasue according to the home owner they had to fluish the toilet. Which I dont knw if that is true or not, no beds had to be changed nothing else.
Again the side of home owner was taken and was feeling like they were calling me a liar. STAY AWAY FROM PROPERTY CALLED SEAHOSE IN PANAMA CITY BEACH AND HOST NITAYLA. NEVER WILL USE THIS COMPANY OF VRBO AGAIN ! AIRBNB ONLY !
Review by Palal Alsbou1 month ago
My reservation that was confirmed and paid for but not found. I spent two hours on the phone trying to get a refund and some help with no luck. Rude uncaring incompetence
Review by Weiyun1 month ago
Buyer Beware ! No booking with Home Away is guaranteed. You are likely to be let down at the last moment - just when you are getting ready to go on vacation. They do not honour their terms of business re trying to get alternative accommodation up to the first seven days of your vacation. See response sent to me.
Thank you for contacting Vrbo.com Customer Support.
My name is Yusra and I am the Team Lead for the Traveller Care Team.
We received your complaint that you send over to us regarding the property that you booked and paid for. We understand the owner cancelled your booking due to not being able to accommodate you.
We do apologise for the inconvenience this situation has caused you. We are an advertising platform and it is purely the owners responsibility to honor the agreement between yourself and the owner.
Has the owner refunded the funds you paid?
Unfortunately, we cannot compensate for any losses that you have occurred as per our terms and conditions.
We will log this as a formal complaint on the owners account as they did cancel the booking closer to the check in date which will negatively impact your listing.
We do always recommend all our travellers to take out travel insurance to cover these type of issues.
I'm more than happy to give you a call to discuss the above. Please let me know when it's a suitable time so I can call you or alternatively, if you prefer to be assisted via Email. Please reply back to this e-mail and I will be at your disposal.
Visit help.vrbo.com for answers to frequently asked questions.
Vrbo.com Customer Support Lead
Review by Baisakhi2 months ago
Been doing business with VRBO for 12 years, started as good service, has turned to crap since the acquisition by Expedia. I am not going to renew my 2 listings as they have done everything in their power to take more money from the owners and renters. It's no longer a good deal... I hope all owners revolt and cancel their subscriptions. That's the only thing that is going to teach these thieves a lesson. By the time they cancel this stupid change on payments, many will be gone and set up through another advertising source.
Review by TizianaN2 months ago
This website lists scammers who list fraudulent homes. Homeaway will not help if you get scammed on their website. Stay away from them. They deserve zero star.
Review by Treneise2 months ago
We rented a property in Woodstock, NH during the week of the 4th of July. The posting for the property stated that the property owners "do not live on site, but do visit on weekends and are usually available at check in and check out." We had the expectation of having the property to ourselves during the week.
The property did not provide the quiet, secluded family time we had been expecting. During our weeklong stay, we had only one day of peaceful family time (and unfortunately by then our daughter had thought it best to take our young grandchildren elsewhere, away from dogs and construction). We checked in on Saturday afternoon. On Sunday the caretaker was walking through the property (including a visit to our "private" deck). On Monday the property owner began construction serenading us with the sound of hammering and a saw set up outside below our deck. On Tuesday my husband complained to the property owner in person. The construction continued through Wednesday when an outside construction crew showed up. My husband shared emails with the property owners wife via the Homeaway message system when she followed up on our in person communication with her husband.
During these days we also had multiple visits from the property owners off-leash dog who was enjoying eating our grandchildren's food. Their son was unsupervised and allowed to sit and stare at us playing with our grandchildren, walk through our gatherings and even sprayed my husband with a squirt gun. According to a communication with his mother Laura, he claimed to have been squirting into the lake, however this took place away from the waterside. On Friday, after being promised by the property owner that there would be no more construction, my daughter was blessed at 8:30 by the sound of the caretaker digging outside her window. He was wheeling a wheelbarrow from the front of the house, past our vehicles to behind the driveway. Later in the day a dump truck arrived and dropped off what sounded like gravel. At this point we had no interest in verifying the content.
Obviously, this is not the experience we were expecting and to add injury to insult, the homeowner gave US a bad review out of spite because she knew we would give her an honest one. We were given 0 stars for cleanliness when we cleaned, swept, washed counters and sinks, made beds, cleaned the refrigerator and freezer, returned all outside chairs, boats, paddles, life preservers and toys to their appropriate location. I am not sure what more could have been done with the exception of remembering to push the start button on the dishwasher (we however were reimbursed our damage deposit even with the zero stars). They claim that we failed to follow house rules but did not give an explanation as to how and they claim we did not communicate with them. I can not prove that we followed house rules as that is akin to proving a negative. I do know that my son-in-law accidentally parked in what appeared to be a space off of the driveway and that we were told it was not and moved the vehicle. Additionally, we have the emails that clearly show there was communication regarding our dissatisfaction over their complete lack of respect for paying guests. We can also document the state of the house upon our departure as my we had come to the conclusion by our departure that we were not dealing with reputable property owners and felt it best to take pictures and videos. (Note: House rules state that renters should NOT strip the beds so they are only loosely made in order to insure they know which sheets were indeed used. The picture of the doorless closet is to document that we did indeed put fans away where they were found. Other items in closet are as we found them)
At what point your property owners held accountable for demonstrating common courtesy to their guests? Yes, we could have called HomeAway during our trip, but what would that really have accomplished? Yes, we considered leaving the property with our daughter and grandchildren but again, what would that have accomplished? We do not feel it should have been necessary to ask in advance if there would be any kind of work being done on the house or property during our vacation (it would seem to be a given that vacationers renting this type of property are looking and paying for a quiet, secluded time). Nor does it seem reasonable to ask if the property owner will have a dog off leash or an unsupervised child. Their posting states that the homeowners may be present on the weekend. That is very different that activity through the week.
In the end the property owner felt a promise of a reimbursement of $200 was sufficient (it is not), and yes this is total, not per day of construction. I would be surprised to see even that much but feel that we should be reimbursed a much larger amount as they failed to rent us the private property that was suggested in their posting. (Note: The owner has submitted a refund of $200 for the damage deposit but that is all.) We also believe that the negative review that they gave us should be amended as we followed house rules, left the property clean and clearly communicated with the owners.
We filed a claim with HomeAway and received no response. After a month, we inquired as to when we would here from them to be told that all they do is submit the case to the homeowner and expect the two parties involved to work it out.
Review by Raydell2 months ago
Sunshine Hopkins home in Silver Sands Country Club off Portola in Palm Desert. Address of 40835 Sterling Drive / Palm Desert, CA 92260 and gate code 1999# is a scammer with loads of experience and knows what she is doing.
The property is listed as the entire home with a pool. Be aware...she props up a partition in the hallway and remains in the home while you are there, which is against Home Away/VRBO policy. The entire house has camera surveillance which is a little daunting. She indicated she was trying this process out but her bio clearly indicates she has experience doing this in foreign countries and Los Angeles. You will share the home with her and whomever else is behind the partition.
We told her we were not comfortable with the arrangement and that she specifically said in an email, which I still have, that this was not a shared house. She checked us in and then cancelled the reservation which then removed our opportunity to leave a scathing review on the Home Away/VRBO site. She kept the money and would not refund anything.
There is one review on her site and the person is a relative with the same last name.
Stay away from Sunshine Hopkins and this house.
Review by Jideofor2 months ago
Seeing so many one star reviews is giving me no consolation like I'm not the only one who got scammed via HomeAway. Luckily only for smaller sum but still. Not to mention identity theft possibilities...I must go to police now to report the scam, not for the money which is long gone by now, just to protect my good name as it will be probably used for the next scam.
This site isn't doing anything to protect the users and obviously don't take any responsibility either.
Just stay away from them. Run!!!!!
Review by Karmeni Mirgon2 months ago
I asked to delete my account with all my personal information. After many verifications to prove that its mine account they wrote me that they can not delete it. Without any reason. Just "Thank you for contacting HomeAway Trust and Security. I appreciate you formally submitting a request for account deletion. However, I am currently unable to process your request at this time. Please try again within the next couple of months." According to GDPR laws this website has no right to refuse delete your account with all personal information there. Its against the law. THE WORST WEB EVER!!! STAY AWAY!!!
Review by Loppylowe Helmstedt2 months ago
Since they took over the excellent Owners Direct they ruined an excellent company. I won't advertise with them again. Impersonal and shocking customer service.
Review by Seamo2 months ago
HomeAway makes you believe you are booking with confidence, but really there is NO PROTECTION whatsoever. You have the option to buy an insurance plan, although who wants to pay a fortune to go a few states over to North Carolina!! (This isn't a trip to Spain).
Specifically, do not book any trips with property owners Becky and Tay Filer. They refused to refund my money for an upcoming trip to North Carolina with weather forecast of an impending Hurricane Dorian Category 4, a state of emergency issues, flights cancelled, and consideration over mandatory evacuations. It is unacceptable to loose $1500 for a five night vacation to North Carolina. These property owners at not trust worthy!
Review by Foxwood2 months ago
My family just returned from a trip to Cape Coral, Florida. We rented from Yvonne Wilenius who owns several properties in the area. They offered a boat rental that came with the house for an extra fee. The property manager Chris had a very thick accent that made it very hard to communicate but we understood that we had to put a 800 dollar deposit down in the event that anything would happen and to be extra save he sold us tow insurance. The boat was JUNK it was almost impossible to steer but we made the best of it. The second day we got the boat stuck in the sand so we called for a tow! He tells us there is nothing he can do for us and we had to get it unstuck ourselves. My boyfriend, our three kids, and myself tried to get it unstuck ourselves with no luck and after 3 hours he finally showed up and had it towed. When we left the boat the motor turned over and there was no damage to the boat. Later that night our credit card was charged 1000 dollars and when we called him he stated that he did us a favor and that if he had not helped us we would've been charged 4-6000 dollars in towing expenses!! We requested receipts and never received them and to top it off we they charged the credit card 2 more times once we left which we also didnt receive receipts! This trip was meant to be special for my father who is battling cancer but it was a nightmare!! Dont be their next victim!!
Review by Bafel2 months ago
This site is a total rip off. there are several hidden charges beside home or hotel booking fees and tricky cancellation policy.
I will ever never book with homeaway.