Had a really truly terrible experience with this rental company. We got a call 20 minutes before check-in, when we were on the way to the property, that we were being relocated due to a hot water issue. The property they relocated us to was absolutely unacceptable. It had clearly not been maintained as it smelled musty and there were dead bugs on all the beds. We called to see if there was anywhere else our large group could stay and the staff assured us this was our only option. The first person we spoke to seemed to be trying to be helpful but after 2 hours back and forth on the phone, we spoke to a supervisor who was rude and very unhelpful. We ended up canceling our reservation and having to scramble to find another rental place on a Friday night. The one good thing they did was refund our payment but I will still definitely be telling people not to use this company.
Review by Finencial3 months ago
My family and I stayed at "Coastal Charm" (Ponte Vedra Beach) from June 29th - July 6th. It was the most miserable vacation we have ever experienced and this property is an absolute dump. I complained numerous times to Vacation Rental Pros Office Personnel and I have filed a complaint with the Florida Better Business Bureau as well as the Florida Attorney General's Office.
1.) In violation of Florida Law, we had an unannounced visit to our front door in the early morning hours of Monday (I believe) by a person from VRP sent to see if we had a dog on our premises. We did not have a dog. My daughter had brought her dog over the day before and it remained on the deck or on the beach the entire time not bothering anyone (I see my daughter in Florida once per year). Her dog being outside or on the beach has never been an issue on any other property and we have rented several over the past (9) years. We received two different phone calls after midnight threatening to evict us from VRP. My wife called and explained that the dog was gone and would not be coming back; yet, their Personnel showed up the next morning without any prior announcement (hardly what any Court would consider an emergency; thus, allowing such a visit ) wanting to know if a dog was on the premises. My wife had already assured the woman spoken to over the telephone that the dog was gone and that would not be an issue going forward.
2.) In violation of Florida Law, we were housed in a Rental Unit with no smoke detectors. The VRP Office Manager (who lacks Customer Service skills) asked me if I would allow their technician to come out and put the missing Smoke Detectors in citing the "you must give us a 48 hour notice" clause in the rental contract ... that she did not cite when we were threatened with eviction. I stated that the VRP technician could come out and he was there within an hour putting up Smoke Detectors that should have been in place since 2014. I videoed the maintenance technician putting them up as well as took pictures ... again, for my records. According to the Law, they should have been in place in 2014; thus, five years overdue.
3.) In violation of Florida Law we were denied hot water ... someone had turned off our hot water at the fuse box. My wife took a cold shower and I went to see if there was something amiss with the hot water heater. Because we are gracious people, I was trying to save the Owner a maintenance call (money) by doing this myself; thus, I went downstairs and inspected the hot water heater and found that the hot water breaker had been turned off. No other fuse was turned off. I turned it back on and the VRP maintenance technician stated that this happens frequently at this property when he was installing the Smoke Detectors.
4.) VRP's website for this property advertises Cable Television.
When we arrived, the cable box was locked and VRP's refused to give us an unlock code until Wednesday (five days into our vacation) when I (once again) called and complained regarding the locked cable code. We were previously told by two others VRP employees that "the Owner didn't want to bother with it."
5.) There were hand written notes telling us to collect the Owners Postal Mail for him daily as well as urging us to be "frugal" with the Air Conditioner as those utilities are high etc. I took photos of all of this. There was also a note stating that the Oven did not work and apologizing for the inconvenience (photo collected).
Advertising two televisions (the one in the bedroom doesn't even have a Cable Box and is therefore useless) and then not affording Guest an unlock code to the one television with a cable box is false advertising, deceptive and rude.
This property is an absolute dump and there are numerous negative reviews of this property listed on other websites that VRP has conveniently excluded from their web page. Interestingly, we have received no link to post a review of our week at this dump from VRP. As a Court Employee of thirty plus years, I have documentation, photos, video as well as dates, times and names etc. to back up the validity of my Review
Review by Lnh3 months ago
DO NOT RENT!
WE booked a place in Austin MONTHS ago for a family vacation. The day before, they called me to tell me that the property is no longer available. I asked what i was supposed to do as we now have nowhere to stay!!!! I literally said, "You screwed up our entire vacation, what are you going to do to help??'
Their response was, "nothing now that you are threatening us."
Then they hung up.
Terrible customer service, terrible process, terrible company!!!
Review by MaryMoo3 months ago
If I could do negative stars I would! I booked our Beachhouse a year in advance and they canceled our rental 10 months later with no explanation. Unbelievable! Now there are no vacation homes left for our dates and they were unable to put us in another house.
Review by Rhms Haakma4 months ago
Do not... I REPEAT DO NOT RENT FROM THESE PEOPLE!!! Clearly other people that have stayed at other properties that they own are having the same problem. I stayed in Beach and Tennis Admirals Row 105 in Hilton Head. This was the WORST experience I have ever had. When we arrived our unit smelt like mildew. The toilet stopped working and overflowed the very first day we were there. There was a nasty stain on our white towels that look like someone had pooped on it. There were bugs everywhere and mildew and mold all over the shower curtain. We stayed on the bottom floor and our patio door did not even lock. My friend had to visit a clinic while we were there due to respiratory problems from the mildew all in the unit. I also got sick from it. When we contacted the owners about the problem they told me they have refund meetings every Tuesday and would discuss giving me a refund. Apparently, they get complaints so much that they have to have a weekly refund meeting. I paid almost $1000 for my trip and I only got $160 back, which did not even cover the clinic bill/meds we had to get. Considering how sick we got and how nasty this place was I was expecting to receive more back. I will never rent from this company again and I hope you take these review seriously because we are not lying. DO NOT RENT FROM THEM!!!!!! This property was not worth my time or money.
Review by Stovie Zaghetto6 months ago
I have used Vacation Rental Pros 3 times and always had an excellent experience. We stay in Panama City and the condo is always in perfect shape and just what my family of 10 needs! They are always nice when I call and always resolve my issue! Their condos are the cheapest I have found for where we stay. I plan on using this company every year! Great customer service!
Review by Haxel9 months ago
We have stay in the same unit in Panama City Beach the past four years. Our agency sold out to V trips last year. They increased the deposit, had a sign a long contract and pay more in advance. On two occasion they erroneously charged our credit card without authorization or notification. After several calls that was corrected. Then eight day before our arrival date we were e-mailed and messaged that our unit was not available. No other accommodations, or solutions were offered. We received a credit refund but lost our two month stay for January and February with no effort to provide another booking.
This agency is the worst. Avoid them and trust nothing they say.
Good luck with your search ELSEWHERE HERE!
Review by Ilovechocolate Mungall9 months ago
False rental rates are used in advertising their rental properties. I signed a contact with Vacation Rental Pros (VRP) for a vacation rental unit in January 2019 for the following January 2020. I paid a deposit and an additional payment totaling $1,000. More than a month later, the owner of the unit tells VRP Owner Services that he wants to raise the month rental. VRP then emails me and tells me that the rate is going up 48%! VRP did look for other units that were available, but none of those internet advertised rates were valid either. All the owners wanted more money! My contract has been cancelled and deposit is being returned, but despite knowing the owner will not accept those rates, VRP continues to advertise low discounted rates. This is a bait and switch business tactic! Their advertised rates are meaningless and owners can raise the rental rate at any time. How is this legal??
Review by TuiLor9 months ago
This company is a total rip off. We rented Sueno Mar in St Augustine last year. After I showed pics on my review we were given a full refund because they knew it was not worthy of animals to stay in. They promised they would remove this house but it is back on their site with the same deceiving pics that lited us to rent it. Do not rent from this company...I wish I could give less than a 1star rating...it would be negative 100.
Review by Hiyame Bruncaj10 months ago
Stay away! I reserved a pet-friendly condo in a complex in Hilton Head where three of our extended families were staying. A week after I signed the contract and sent in a $300 down payment, they called to tell me that the condo wasn't available. They offered another condo, which I accepted. A few days later, they called to tell me that the second condo wasn't available. The only option that they offered in our desired area was $600 more and not pet friendly. The company refused to make up the difference.
I had to scramble to find a place for us to stay. Luckily, I found an owner who was willing to waive his "no pets" policy, after I explained the situation.
The woman who helped me was extremely nice, and I think that she really did try to help. I hope that she is able to find another job!
Review by Kitzi Svete11 months ago
they list a condo at shores club resort #1101 Don Stricklin for Jan-Feb at a low price but when you inquire about it the price is more than double.spoke with the owner last month he said it was just a mistake and would be corrected. 5 weeks later it is still the same and he refuses to rent for the price he has on the site. Be careful booking on line from this company...
Review by Wagithi1 year ago
Vacation rental pros has provided my family the worst service and worst experience. The company is unprofessional and we will never go use them again. I booked a cabin for our trip and was redirected to this company for booking. Had I known then what I know now I would have stayed with American Patriot Getaways or Eagle Ridge Resort. I have never had any issues with either of these companies. However, on the day that we were leaving FL headed to TN on our 11 hour drive I called to ensure everything was ready for check in. I was told yes. We stopped in Atlanta to stay the night and got up the next morning to only receive a call that there was an issue with the cabin that we were supposed to arrive to in another 4 hours. There was an issue with the septic and we would not be able to use the cabin. I understand that issues like this can happen however the company should have a nice, clean, upgraded cabin that does not get rented out for situations like this because we were told that there is nothing that they could do for us. They were going to move us into one cabin for the first 4 nights and then a second cabin for the remaining 3 nights. This was a huge burden on my family as it is a lot to pack up food and personal items to move in the middle of your stay. All of our activities had to be pushed and moved around. Then we were told that we would not have to wait until the normal check in time of 3:00 since this was not our fault and that they would have the cabin put on the list for priority cleaning. This was a lie, the morning of our move we were supposed to receive a call to advise when the cabin was ready for move in. We received no call. I called the company back and was advised that the cabin would not be ready for check in until 3:00 pm. So we were supposed to sit with all of our food that we had purchased during our stay and our personal items and wait. This was very unprofessional and although I complained the company did nothing. This was on Thursday, I asked for a manager to call me back and I have yet to receive a call. After spending and average of 5 to 6 hours total on the phone with this company I finally was able to convince someone that we should be provided a refund of some sort since we missed an entire day of activities due to having to move and had to throw away a good portion of our food we purchased. We were told we would receive a refund in 5 to 7 days. Once we got home from our trip we learned that a refund (not a full refund but a refund they calculated) was sent back to us but the very next day they charged our card again for the same amount. So I am now having to deal with this company again regarding a new issue and I am having issues getting it resolved. No one has been eager to help or be kind in any way. Very disappointed.
Review by HazeyO1 year ago
This is the worst company we ever rented a condo from in Clearwater Beach Florida. The unit we rented Landmark Towers 1 # 408 was in terrible shape when we finally got into it. Closet doors unhinged so badly that one fell off and hit my wife in the head. I tried to resolve this issue with them but to no avail so now we are in the process of suing them for damages. Closet doors not working, poor air conditioning, dirty Condo, patio doors to the outside with no locks on them, a shower so small you couldn't get into it and on and on. I even sent 2 E-mails to the owner Steve Milo but again no reply back. Trust me book with someone else and save yourself the agony of dealing with a company that doesn't care about it's customers. 10 of our friends have already booked elsewhere for next year because of our unresolved issues we had with this company.
Review by Cherece1 year ago
Stay away! Bait and switch all the way! My wife booked 622 Cinnamon Beach for our family vacation. Once the rental agreement was signed and deposit was made a representative sent an email advising that they needed to increase the rental cost by $800 or they can find us another unit. Nothing similar to our original rental or the price point. No thank you VRP...I know a scam when I see one. Still waiting on refund from this company. Not holding my breath on that one. Needless to say, I believe this company is completely fraudulent.
PS, per their rental agreement, they have a clause to increase the price at anytime even after agreement is signed. I can easily see them waiting until a day before your much anticipated vacation to increase your rental costs thinking they have you locked in and make a quick profit.
Review by Sabababba1 year ago
TERRIBLE! DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY!!! I have rented from them numerous times in the past with no problems...however today changed that. We stayed in a rental last March that we liked so 4 months ago in July I booked the same property for the same number of days we stayed last year. Mind you, this property is located in Siesta Key where there is little else to rent and it fills very quickly. Yesterday (4 months after I booked) they informed me my reservation would be cancelled because the owner decided he wanted me to book for the whole week. I cannot be away from work for the entire week as much as I would like to so that will not work. I asked that the company cover the cost or at least most of the difference between my original rate and the rate for the week. They refused and only offered to pay 1/4 of the extra cost for the three nights that the owner was requiring and that I would not be there. They could not find me anything else to rent in the area and basically said too bad. BEWARE!!!! Now I am without a place to stay while my family is all in town for a reunion. Beyond terrible customer service!
Review by Misteritz Derrow1 year ago
Vacation Rental Pros (VRP) has a very good computer system and, while there are no problems with a reservation, it will all progress very smoothly. But when a problem does arise and humans take over, things can be very different. We booked an apartment on Estero Beach for our November holiday in Florida back in February. Everything went smoothly and we made our final payment at the beginning of September. We were all set. But four weeks later and four weeks before we were due to travel we received an email from VRP telling us that the accommodation we had booked was no longer on their register. All that was on offer were two apartments which were below the standard of that we had booked. Being seniors, we had some specific requirements which VRP could no longer provide so we had to cancel. We got our money back but lost out on the exchange rate and the car rental cancellation fee. We emailed VRP for an explanation; three months later we are still waiting for a reply. Only VRP know what went wrong but the best guess is that nobody told the owners about our reservation, the owners wanted the apartment for themselves in November and so stopped dealing with VRP because of their poor performance.
So if anybody wants to book through VRP, they would be well advised to make sure their Insurance is in good order and if they have to email them, not to hold their breath anticipating a reply.
Review by Romsha Holubek1 year ago
Avoid this company. I booked a vacation rental in St. Augustine Beach and the company called two days before my trip and told me the trip was cancelled due to Hurricane Irma. I had paid over 1600.00 in advance. They refuse to reimburse me for the trip even thou I had an email from them saying they were going to. I have filed a complaint with the BBB and also disputed the charges through my CC company. A lot of emailing and calling daily for a month to receive my refund and they are not refunding my money. Awful customer service. I will never book with them again. BEWARE !!!!
Review by Inex Waniga2 years ago
I found one of VacationRentalPros' villas on Hilton Head Island through the VRBO.com website, and it sounded like a wonderful place for me to bring my 3 kids. I booked it, but when I got my confirmation email, the price I was charged was nearly 50% per night higher than what was advertised here.
I tried for a day and a half to get a response from VacationRentalPros' local office in Hilton Head, but they wouldn't return my calls or emails. (Several times as I was waiting for a response, they DID send me email reminders asking me to hurry up and sign & return the contract they had sent.)
Finally I got in touch with their corporate office in Ponte Vedra Beach, FL. After waiting most of the day for an answer and speaking to Clarese, Max and Lindsay, they acknowledged that VRBO had listed the property at an incorrect rate. However, when I asked VacationRentalPros to honor the price that I had been shown, they said they were unable to do it. The best they would offer was to waive the resort fee, but the total amount would still be over $150 more than the total amount I had originally agreed to.
By refusing to honor the rate that VRBO had offered me, VacationRentalPros made VRBO's software glitch MY problem. And while it was a friendly gesture to offer to waive the resort fee (which, by the way, was also higher than what the fine print on their contract said it should be), I still would have been paying nearly $40/day extra that I would be using to entertain my kids on their vacation.
Now I am starting over on my family's vacation plans because of a glitch on VRBO's site and VacationRentalPros' unwillingness to do what it took to make their customer happy.
(And... for the record... in keeping with VRBO's rules for leaving reviews, I am not disclosing the actual amounts that I was quoted. However, this was not one of these glitches like where an airline website offers roundtrip tickets to Paris for $2.00 or something ridiculous. The price I was quoted was a great bargain for me, but it was still within the bounds of a reasonable nightly rate for a comparable vacation property.)
So... I highly recommend avoiding any rental property that is offered by VacationRentalPros. The price you see may or may not be the price you'll end up paying, and if it's higher... tough luck.
Review by Pascoal2 years ago
WARNING...Upon arrival at 7 pm the condo we rented was not cleaned at all from previous renter. Used sheets still on the beds, a/c turned off and 85 degrees inside. Sliding glass doors were wide open. I called and finally got housekeeping to do the minimum so we could get the kids to bed at 11:30 pm after housekeeping finished. I called mgt. three times and nobody answered or returned my calls. Worst place I ever rented.
Review by Gupei2 years ago
Avoid this company like the plague. They took my booking 9/25/2017. Confirmed my booking. Singed contract. Took my money. Waited a month (10/24/2017) to let me know they did not even have the authority to book this room. The owner called them and let them know that he had another rental place booking this room. Now all condos are taken up in that complex where all the other families I was going with are staying. They have ruined our 2018 Spring Break.
Review by Josue2 years ago
If there was a zero rating that's what I would give. I had booked a beach house for a vacation in palm coast. When hurricane mathew came through I was told that it was destroyed and I would get a full refund. Then I got another story saying it was severely damaged and would be ready before my vacation and I would not be receiving a refund. Long story short they never refunded any of my money. Never again will I ever refer anyone to do business with vacation rental pros
Review by Adobe2 years ago
Sadly, the property we rented at 12 Port-A-Prince in Shipyard on Hilton Head Island from these people was the worst experience we have dealt with in the many years we have been coming down here. We rented the house for 10 days and paid extra to have the pool heated. After a long drive from New York, we were hoping to enjoy the pool and some wine, but that was not to be. There was a sign saying not to use the pool for 24 hours due to the chemicals that were put in there. From there the nightmare continued and we needed the wine! Upon entering the house we found damage, ranging from minor to mid- major, to dirty appliances, and a general look of a very run down house. Broken blinds on the windows, dividers on the windows falling off, no screens on the sliding glass doors, soiled bed linens and blankets, stinky shoes hanging from an air conditioning vent, gouges out of the hardwood floor, a leaky refrigerator causing the floor to heave in spots, no ice maker, no covered garbage can in the kitchen or any bathrooms and the best... the refrigerator in the garage full of rotting food. I made the call to the rental agency and started to list all the issues when the young lady said she would come out and see, which she did. She seemed completely unimpressed with the many issues we pointed out. Here I will add the only bright spot dealing with these people. Their Maintenance staff tried their best to fix what they could and apologized for what they could not due to " financial issues". We made the best of it as we could and then ...back to the pool. Absolutely filthy with dirt and green slime. Again the young lady from VRP seemed unimpressed and we did the best we could cleaning it until the pool people came again, 3 days before we left for home. We actually spent very little time in the pool, instead visiting with family members and using their's. We were supposed to be "compensated" for our issues but so far have seen nothing. I wish I could attach some photos lest you think I exaggerate. We obviously will never do business with this company again and I hope you think twice before you rent this property. VERY VERY poor customer service! (The 2nd star is for the Maintenance people only)
Review by Pgrella2 years ago
Wish I could give VRP negative stars. ABSOLUTELY THE WORST RENTAL EXPERIENCE WE'VE HAD! Please do your self a favor and believe all these negative reviews. Find another company to rent from. The owners and managers of VRP should be ashamed that they call this a business. No customer service and their product is NOT as described.
We rented the Atlantic View Princess in St. Augustine. The pictures looked beautiful and it was one of their "nicer" more expensive properties. We even called to confirm that it was nice as they didn't have property reviews (red flag). We were assured it was great and we even checked on it's status after the hurricane.
We arrived to a busted up frat house. There were hand written signs painters taped on the broken front door. Light fixtures were hanging off. The house was dirty, dusty and terribly decorated. The furniture was all broken, stained and out dated. There were notes all over this house taped on everything. It appears that prior renters had trashed the place and we got to deal with the aftermath. Aggressive notes and broken everything! Screen doors ripped off, the pool furniture was duct taped, there were ZERO amenities other than 2 trash bags and some towels. The A/C was broken on the ground floor. We had to let workers in 2 days at 8 am. The a/c unit had to be replaced. No a/c for 1/3 of the house for 1/2 the week. The pool filter broke.
Not a relaxing vacation at all. Plus their cleaning crew stole money from us. Just an all around AWFUL experience. VRP doesn't stand by their product nor do they care about their customers. Shameful! I don't know how any of these people sleep at night. They are thieves!
Review by Belphoebe Wentzler2 years ago
We booked using VRP and it was excellent from start to finish. The representative was extremely helpful in assisting g me in finding the perfect home in a great location. We will use them this year for our next annual family vacation.