It was not made clear during the reservation that Routes would only rent to people who had flown in from out of town via the airport and had a boarding card so thanks to Wisecars.com I had a few hours of my time wasted and they thought they should charge me $20 for doing so to boot. Thanks for nothing.
Review by Ugoh Tuscumbia3 months ago
The shuttles from the airport to the office location were just regular cars - I had to wait for a while, because there was not enough room for everyone to fit. Several cars filled up before I was able to get into one. Once we got in, it was crowded and some groups of travellers decided they would send only one person from the group to pick up the car and get the rest of them at the airport after.
Once we got into the office, I waited in line for nearly 2 hours. I basically waisted the entire afternoon. The car I wanted was not available, so instead of getting a small car that would be easier on gas and better for driving in the city, I got an SUV. I have not returned the car yet, but hope it will be better than the pick up experience. I will never rent from this company again. The lower price is not worth the hassle!
Review by Pamoda Avakova4 months ago
Waited almost 2hrs to pick up my car and drive off the lot. This is the most ridiculously antiquated car rental place. You get what you pay for. Next time will pay a bit more for faster in & out service, and ability to drop you key & go. Never again!
Review by Hansanee Smolka4 months ago
Booked a car from them via EasyRentCars. At the time all seemed well, service ok. BUT 2 months after the booking my credit card was charged AGAIN for the rental, this time by Routes. This was a prepaid rental, something that Routes acknowledged, so why the extra bill? 3 weeks later and I am yet to get a meaningful answer from either Routes or EasyRentCars. Evidence suggest that Routes stuffed up and lack the ability or fortitude to "own" that error and fix it, or else they are just incompetent or maybe ripoff merchants. In either case I am still out of pocket, I have now paid twice for this rental and I want a refund.
Review by TrebZed6 months ago
We recently rented from Routes from Vancouver. They seem to be a newish and growing company.
The office and yard are a bit strange being an ex restaurant. Still, the staff are helpful and try to get you away quickly.
Our car was a clean Kia Forte with 16k kms on it. It went well for the 10 days we had it. It did not have cruise control perhaps as it was an entry level car?
On return we were quickly helped and then jumped in the shuttle to the airport. There was a minor problem with the additional driver charge which they fixed up for us.
Happy to recommend this firm (if you are saving money!)
Review by Foshee11 months ago
Customer Care is shocking here.
I found a car rental site that showed this company as offering great prices and choices for a car rental from Calgary Airport for the duration of my holiday. The prices seemed too good to be true, so I looked at Routes own website and my search (including changing the dates) showed ALL CARS/TRUCKS as unavailable and suggests you contact the branch. I emailed them and got this very short and somewhat rude reply from Veronica T who goes under the guise of 'customer care agent'.
the reason why it shows unavailable is because there is no availability. And also our rentals go out for a maximum of 14 days" *copied and pasted as received from Veronica T.
I would also say Routes failed their training requirements for customer care as well as failing to be available for rentals from Calgary!
Routes Car & Truck is rated 2.0 based on
Trust Mamma Reviews
Our reviews are aggregated from multiple sources to give you the best overview about routes.ca.